Volkswagen and Giniel de Villiers made history today, taking victory of the Dakar Rally, the first for a Diesel car. de Villiers also took the stage victory.

Team mate, Mark Miller made it a 1-2, with NASCAR star, Robbie Gordon taking a well deserved 3rd, over four hours ahead of Ivar Erik Tollesfen in a Nissan Navara (Frontier).

Red Bull, sponsors of the Volkswagen team, were also winners in the Bike and Truck categories. Mark Coma on a KTM, in the bike section and Firdaus Kabirov, driving a Kamaz, in the trucks.

Overall results:

Pos Driver Car Time 1.  Giniel de Villiers   Volkswagen   48h10:57 2.  Mark Miller          Volkswagen  +    8:59 3.  Robby Gordon         Hummer      + 1h46:15 4.  Ivar Erik Tollefsen  Nissan      + 6h04:34 5.  Krzysztof Holowczyc  Nissan      + 6h37:49 6.  Dieter Depping       Volkswagen  + 8h43:29 7.  Miroslav Zapletal    Mitsubishi  +11h03:08 8.  Leonid Novitskiy     BMW         +13h15:13 9.  Guerlain Chicherit   BMW         +14h49:4910.  Joan Roma            Mitsubishi  +17h27:46