The Red Bull Volkswagen Team took it easy today to ensure their 1-2 lead remained intact, without problems. The lead VW’s stopped early in the stage to wait for their team mate, Dieter Depping so they could run safely in formation. This allowed Joan Roma to take the first stage win for the Mitsubishi Lancer on this year’s rally.

Robbie Gordon lost some time due to a throttle problem, but he is in a very comfortable third.

Overall standings:

Pos Driver Car Time 1.  Giniel de Villiers   Volkswagen   46h35:14 2.  Mark Miller          Volkswagen  +    2:20 3.  Robby Gordon         Hummer      + 1h27:13 4.  Ivar Erik Tollefsen  Nissan      + 5h55:01 5.  Krzysztof Holowczyc  Nissan      + 6h37:32 6.  Joan Roma            Mitsubishi  + 7h27:08 7.  Dieter Depping       Volkswagen  + 8h28:55 8.  Miroslav Zapletal    Mitsubishi  +10h52:26 9.  Leonid Novitskiy     BMW         +13h15:1110.  Rene Kuipers         BMW         +14h40:17